O Melodie, where are you?

 

The next country to choose their Eurovision entry (on February 25th) is Moldova.  A country known for its dated pop songs and ballads.  I am guessing it will be something similar this year, but I could be pleasantly surprised.

Aurel Chirtoaca- “Dor De Mama”

This song has a nice opening, with what I can only describe as traditional wind instruments, like panpipes, or could even be them.  Aurel has a deep voice and it really compliments the song well.  The song starts of quiet and soft before it is turns into a dramatic ethnic ballad, it harks back to the ballads of the mid 90’s from countries such as Romania and Estonia.  I really do enjoy these types of songs, and while this isn’t the best example of them, it is still a nice ethnic ballad and I appreciate the song for that.  I don’t see this winning as it isn’t instant enough, but nice to have a song like this in a national selection this year.

My score: 5.25/10

Diana Brescan- “Breath”

Ooh-uh!  English lyrics are bad, and Diana’s pronunciation is not great.  Watching the live audition tape, she doesn’t seem to be completely confident with the song, I am guessing this is because she struggles with the English language.  The track itself is a decent track, if somewhat R’n’B by numbers.  In this selection, it will stand out for that reason, but this would do nothing at Eurovision.

My score: 4.5/10

Ethno Republic & Surorile Osoianu- “Discover Moldova”

Oh!  This is what is missing in Eurovision, an upbeat ethnic song (yes I know about Belarus).  Ethno Republic’s female lead starts of the song with some gentle vocals, before the song commences with the ethnic upbeat elements and joined by Surorile Osoianu in their traditional garb.  There is some chanting halfway through, which strengthens the ethnic feel of the song.  This is not the best ethnic song that has been sent to Eurovision, but if it is successful in Moldova it could be rearranged to make it more palatable for the wider Eurovision audience.  Moldova do well with more traditional songs, just look back to 2005 and 2009 to see this.

My score: 5.5/10

Marks & Stefanet- “Join Us in the Rain”

I love the backing track, bagpipes (of some description) wailing in the background give this a world music vibe.  Yet the lyrics are hardly recognisable as their accents are quite strong, it took me a while to understand fully what they were saying.  They can hold a note, but the song has reached its climax by the 1 minute mark, and after that, all this song has to offer is a constant plea of “Join Us in the Rain”, but all I can say is ‘No Thanks!’

 My score: 3/10

Samir Loghin- “Glow”

O.K!  This is getting there. Samir is not difficult on the eye and has a decent voice.  This song has more to do with middle-eastern influences, than Moldovan culture.  I don’t know if I really enjoy the refrain of “du-duh’s!” as it is uninspiring and cheap.  It did keep me interested the whole way through though, which is a positive aspect.

My score: 5/10

SunStroke Project- “Hey Mamma”

Well they are back, the band that brought “Epic-Sax Guy”.  They also have a Sax break, which is just crying out for him to return.  This is the most contemporary song on offer, it is not too different to their 2010 entry, although I don’t find it as instant or catchy.  Saying this, I can’t see this doing badly in the Moldovan selection and with some work this could do well in Eurovision.  This is probably their best chance at this moment.

My score: 6.5/10

Valeria Pasa- “Freedom”

This is Disney circa 2001.  It reminds me of a song on the soundtrack to many of Mandy Moore and Melissa Joan Hart films.  The lyrics are cheesy and the production is cheap.  The break down in the song and the bridge to the final verse are predictable, but it is inoffensive.  This could go to Eurovision, as it is not too whacky, but it would be left in its semi-final.

My Score: 3.5/10

Vozniuc feat. Vio Grecu- “Don’t Lie”

 Another rock song, Vozniuc insists on shouting the lyrics, I am guessing he thinks that’s how he delivers a song of this genre?  This has no appeal at all and instead of building to a great crescendo it retracts in its structure, and introduces flashes of spoken word.  It’s a mish mash of a song with absolutely no coherence, and has nothing to make me invest in it.

My score: 1.5/10

 

Well I was right, mostly dated pop and rock songs with a few world peace ballads thrown in for good measure.  Not a winner in this bunch.

My Top 3:

1.       SunStroke Project

2.        Ethno Republic & Surorile Osoianu

3.       Aurel Chirtoaca

Who are your favourites, and who do you want to win?  Let us know below.  Enjoy the show.

Leave a Reply

