EM-A, are you ready Slovenia?

EMA 2017

Slovenia are a country that has had mixed results in the Eurovision Song Contest.  They either choose a fantastic song or a complete snooze, there is no middle ground with them, which really is a shame as they do put on one of the best National Final productions every year.

Will they pull it out of the bag this year?  Let’s find out.

KiNG FOO- “Wild Ride”

She has a deep voice, which with this song is very complimentary.  This is what can only be described as an EDM Rock song.  It reminds me of a late 80’s rock song by bands such as heart (who I love).  She’s a very confident performer and can sell this well.  I can’t say this is dated as it is almost experimental in a way, it’s hard to tell how well this will do, but I enjoy it and would download it.

My score: 7/10

Nika Zorjan- “Fse”

I don’t know what to make of this song, it is a pop-rock song with ethnic beats, it really does captivate you and Nika is a fantastic performer and singer.  One criticism I would have is that the song seems to be quite flat in regards to its structure, it doesn’t go anywhere, and maybe that would make it a bit more accessible to a mainstream Eurovision viewer.  I can’t take too much away from this, as I do enjoy it.

My score: 7.5/10

Sell Out- “Ni Panike”

Oh Slovenia!  It was going so well until this came on.  Now I must say I am not a fan of Ska music in the slightest, my parents are massive Madness fans so I think over time I have grown a hatred of it.  I’m sure it is fun, and if Turkey 2004 and Greece 2013 is anything to go by it is one of the more popular genres of music at Eurovision.  For me not a winner, but I am sure this will do well if there are no other up tempo songs in the mix.

My score: 5/10

Omar Naber- “On My Way”

Another Eurovision Alumni returns to a national selection, and like so many other artists that participated in Kyiv the last time, they want to return.  Omar comes back with another ballad, but this time it is far more in the old-school Eurovision mould instead of his rock ballad he took to Ukraine previously.  The lyrics are predictable with a refrain of “lights will guide you through the night”, how many times have we heard that?  He is a fantastic singer, and the melody of the song is nice and inoffensive, he even has a key change which is never a bad thing in this contest.  I really hope he doesn’t win because of his name, as even in his semi-final of EMA there are two better songs.

My score: 5.5/10

Raiven- “Zazarim”

The start of this reminds me of Aminata’s song from 2015, she even hits the high notes as well.  Raiven has a great voice and the song is quite futuristic, with edgy electronic elements.  This is one of those songs that hit the mark when it comes to Slovenia producing a great entry.  I love Raiven’s look, she is cookie yet modern and she will stand out in Kyiv.  The song could do with a bit more dynamism, but this is a fantastic effort.

My score: 8/10

BQL- “Heart of Gold”

Another one of these songs you get ten a penny from many male solo artists in the charts at the minute.  Although this is a duet, but that doesn’t add much to the song, maybe the contrast in the voices elevates it slightly from its counterparts in other selections, but it doesn’t have a real hook and it plods along.  Not a winner for me.

My score: 5/10

Tim Kores- “Open Fire”

I don’t know what to make of Tim’s voice, in the beginning it seems to be all over the place, but it seems to strengthen as the song goes on.  It is a good dance/pop song, but I feel it is cheapened by the staging at the start, Mans and Sergey done it better.  The fire in his hand and on the cymbals, is a good touch maybe keep that.  But the song is a stronger song with less stage production, for now it is O.K.

My score: 6/10

Nuska Drascek- “Flower in the Snow”

I love her earrings, shame I can’t say that about her voice at the beginning, it is weak, but she saves it when the song picks up.  This is a dated ballad, it reminds me of ballads popular in the mid to late 90’s, it has a similar structure to Seal’s “A Kiss from a Rose”.  This would have done well 15 years ago, not a winner.

My score: 4.5/10

 

Having looked at all the entries on offer, Slovenia have a real chance at a good place in this year’s Eurovision.  There are a few songs that could take them to the final, after crashing out in their semi-final last year.

My top 3:

1.       Raiven

2.       Nika Zorjan

3.       KiNG FOO

Who do you think will fly the flag for Slovenia?  Let us know below!  Enjoy the show.

Leave a Reply

