Massive Gay Party in Denmark! Oh wait!

Actually, it’s Dansk Melodi Grand Prix 2017- Close enough 😀

Denmark have finally revealed their 10 songs for this year’s competition and there are some familiar faces from X-factor and previous Dansk MGP years.   Will any of the songs on offer finally bring Denmark back into the final?  Something they haven’t done since they hosted back in 2014.

Let’s listen and find out!

Anja Nissen- “Where I Am”

Anja is back after her second placing in last year’s Dansk MGP with “Never Alone”.  This starts off as if we are going to get a gospel banger, but then turns into an early 00’s R’n’B ballad.  Anja is a great singer we all know that from last year, and she did win The Voice of Australia.  Yet I think she deserves a better song than this, it is decent, but the lyrics are a bit cheesy.  It’s a nice song, but not a contest winner.

My score: 6.5/10

Anthony- “Smoke in My Eyes”

Ok I must say I felt a bit cringe at the start during his speaking part.  This is just all kinds of wrong, it’s like a One Direction reject song, and it would have been rejected for a reason.  It is trying to be fun happy and upbeat but it doesn’t make me even want to shake my booty.  This reminds me of a better version of Danyl Johnson’s song from the UK selection, but that isn’t necessarily a good thing.

My score: 5/10

Calling Mercury- “Big Little Lies”

This is an indie-pop style ballad, it sounds like a Snow Patrol demo track.  They have lovely gentle voices, and if this years’ Eurovision was turning into a big dance song contest this would do very well, but it is the complete opposite.  This would be completely swallowed up by the competition, it isn’t a bad song but it isn’t a winner.

My score: 6/10

Ida Una- “One”

Oh, I love this, it has such a great message about peace and love but not in a cheesy way.  This is the way you do an upbeat song about this topic.  If Ida can sing as well live as it is on the studio version this could be a big contender.  This has a vibe of Emmeli De Forest, yet it isn’t as ethnic as “Only Teardrops”, and it is very contemporary in its production.  With no actual happy upbeat female lead songs in the contest, this could do very well and bring Denmark back into the final.

My score: 8/10

Jeanette Bonde- “Hurricane”

I have been waiting all national final season to review a song and use the word ‘Sia-like’.  This is a great contemporary mid-tempo ballad in the style of Sia, it is darker than a normal pop ballad.  It compliments Jeanette’s look perfectly, it reminds me of Simone’s “Heart Shaped Hole” from last year, maybe with a little less dynamism.  A great effort and this could do very well.

My score: 7.5/10

Johanna Beijbom- “A.S.A.P.”

This is a song right out of 2002, when Sophie-Ellis Bextor was at the top of the charts in the U.K. with take me home.  It has that vintage feel along those lines, the chorus is a complete rip-off Geri Halliwell’s “Ride It”.  It is a fun song, but it is cheap in production and there are already better songs than this in this competition.  Not a winner for me.

My score: 5.5/10

Rene Machon- “Warriors”

I think Rene is trying to be Chris Martin, this is a Coldplay-esque indie rock song.  It just doesn’t go anywhere lyrically or structurally.  It leaves me cold and wanting so much more.  Not a bad song per se, but it wouldn’t garner enough votes in my opinion.

My score: 5.5/10

Rikke Skytte- “Colour My World”

This has a World music vibe to it the introduction of the drum beats make the song instantly more appealing.  It has an almost tribal feeling to it, then half way through we start to hear a more up-tempo track coming through, it keeps us interested the whole way through, not knowing what is coming next.  For an experimental song, it works well and Rikke’s vocals are crystal clear and haunting at times.  This could be fantastic on stage and I feel it needs that, as something is missing and it could be incredible staging.  I wouldn’t rule this out.

My score: 8/10

Sada Vidoo- “Northern Lights”

The living doll from last year’s UK X Factor has finally made her way to Dansk MGP, to try and represent her home country.  Sada left viewers in the UK perplexed and stunned at her amazing vocal range and quirky aesthetic.  This is why I am slightly disappointed in this song, I was expecting a big rock style ballad, somewhat similar to her cover of the Pat Benatar Classic “Love Is A Battlefield”, and that is the problem with having expectations, more times than not, they don’t live up to them.  Yet I still love the song and this could do very well for Denmark, it lends itself to fantastic staging, and with her quirky nature she would be loved at Eurovision.  Sada as a package should go to Kyiv, she will perform the ‘HECK’ out of this!

My score: 8.5/10

Thomas Ring- “Vesterbro”

The only song to be sung in Danish comes from the winner of the third Series of X Factor Denmark, Thomas Ring.  “Vesterbro” could have just been copied and pasted from last year’s Danish language entry in MGP “To Stjerner”.  It has the same build structurally, and has the electronically dubbed backing voices, these elements make the song sound cheap and out of place.  I am guessing they are trying to make it sound modern, but it fails in its mission, Not a winner.

My score: 5.5/10

 

Denmark have provided us with 10 varied entries in this year’s competition, with some stand out songs, and one or two potential Eurovision hits.  As with many national finals this season we need to wait and see how each song can be staged and performed, and while I think we might have a potential winner in this selection, it all depends on the performances this Saturday.

My top 3:

  1. Sada Vidoo

2= Ida Una

2= Rikke Skytte

Who do you want to win?  Let us know below, and enjoy the show!

Leave a Reply

