Are Norway ready to shoot it out of the park?

Melodi Grand Prix 2017

After last year’s disappointing non-qualification Norway are back to hopefully restore some order to Norwegian participation at Eurovision.  A country that has reached the highest heights and the lowest depths are hoping they can hike to the top again in 2017.

Let’s see if that is possible.

Ulrikke- “Places”

This has a very Zara Larsson vibe to it, which instantly gives it a contemporary feel.  Ulrikke’s vocals on the studio are crystal clear.  It is a great modern dance song, and if this is performed well then this could be a real contender for Kyiv.

My score: 8.5/10

Jenny Augusta- “I Go Where You Go”

Jenny is one with nature and it shows in this song.  The song could be sung around a burning effigy of a man in a meadow, at least the first minute, then we quickly end up in the depths of Bluegrass Texas.  This is a mash up of different genres, separately they work, but they are cohesive and make the whole affair disjointed.  I personally find it interesting to listen to and it keeps me gripped, but I don’t think this has the power to win it for Norway.

My score: 6/10

Rune Rudberg Band- “Run Run Away”

This type of country music is a lot like the music that we hear on local radio every Saturday morning in Northern Ireland.  I don’t listen to it there and honestly, I wouldn’t listen to this.  The band I am sure is very experienced and great performers, but this would not win anything at Eurovision.  I do appreciate there participation.

My score: 4.5/10

Jowst feat. Aleksander Walmann- “Grab The Moment”

This is very electronic in sound, with hints of R’n’B.  It is trying to hard to be contemporary, the lyrics are a bit cheesy/irritating and I switch off.  This isn’t a winner.

My score: 5.5/10

Kristian Valen- “You & I”

This is a 90’s sweet ballad, it harks back to the era that Robbie Williams was in the charts for “Angels”.  If Kristian’s vocals are as great as they are in the studio version, then he could have a surprise finish for what is ultimately a bland ballad.  The song itself just seems to plateau after 30 seconds and doesn’t excite me after that.

My score: 5/10

In Fusion- “Nothing Ever Knocked Us Over”

The Norwegian Little Mix bring us an empowering and cheerful dance song.  It is a lot more EDM in style than anything the British girl group release.  This is a great dance along song, what I fear is that they will not be able to pull this off live, as we have sing with many girl groups in the past.  I would like to be proven wrong, and if that is the case we could well see them in Kyiv.

My score: 8/10

Amina Sewali- “Mesterwerk”

The only song to be sung entirely in Norwegian comes from Amina.  Personally, when I hear a country is going to sing in their native language I automatically think that it will either be a ballad or an ethnic number, which is why this surprised me.   This is very Scandi electro pop that shouldn’t fit with the Norwegian language, but it does and well.  This could be a dark horse in MGP, don’t rule it out just yet.

My score: 7/10

Ammunition- “Wrecking Crew”

Åge Sten Nilsen is back to Eurovision with a more ACDC style of rock after his last successful Eurovision stint back in 2005, when the contest was also held in Kyiv. As a rock song it is good, strong and memorable for its chant. Is it my favourite? No. Will it win MGP I think it will, and it wouldn’t be a big surprise.

My score: 7.5/10

Elin & The Woods- “First Step in Faith (Oadjebasvuhtii)”

This is the most ethnic song in the competition and I applaud it for that element.  Saying this, we have heard entries like this from Scandanavian, such as Jon Henrik in Swede, and unfortunately for Elin, he had a much stronger song in “Jag Ar Fri”.  I can see this doing quite well, but I don’t see it quite reaching the top.

My score: 6.5/10

Ella- “Mama’s Boy”

The very first though I had was that this is the theme tune from St Trinians by Girls Aloud.  It has that almost teenage girl angst feel to it and while I enjoy the song, I can’t see this appealing to a wider audience.  It is certainly different, but not universal and I can’t see it winning.

My score: 6.5/10

 

Well there are a few songs that really stand out from the crowd and could score well at the contest.  What I will say though, I don’t think the next Eurovision winner is in this selection.

My top 3:

  1. Ulrikke
  2. In Fusion
  3. Ammunition

Who is you favourite?  Let us know below.  Enjoy the show.

Leave a Reply

